After September 18th, you’ll no longer be able to send messages directly on YouTube. Some parts of this feature may go away before this date, such as sharing a video as a message.
If you’d like to save a copy of your messages:
- Go to https://takeout.google.com/settings/takeout/custom/youtube.
- In the YouTube section, select “All data included” to choose which data you want to keep.
- Deselect all data except “Chats”.
- Select OK.
- Select Next step.
- Select “Creative archive”.
- You’ll receive an email when your archive is ready.
- Download all of your chats as a .zip file.
When you share a video on YouTube or get a message from a YouTube friend, a private conversation is created where you can view and discuss the video. You can watch shared videos directly in your conversation.
View & manage current conversations
You can view shared videos and current conversations, share more videos, and manage group conversation participants.
View your conversations
To find all of your existing conversations started in the YouTube app:
- Go to the Inbox tab .
- Select MESSAGES.
- Select the chat you’d like to see.
Note: When you view a message, others in the chat can see that you’ve viewed it. You’ll also see when others have viewed a chat message you’ve sent — the note “Seen” or “Seen by
Go to the video you’d like to share.
Under the video player, tap Share .
Share on YouTube by selecting a friend.
You can also share the video link by selecting an app or copying the link to the video.
Change group conversation name
View video watch page
Open the YouTube app and go to an existing conversation.
- Tap the arrow to open the video’s watch page.
- You can access additional player controls, view related suggestions, and post or view video comments.
Mute, leave, or delete a conversation
Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?